Thinking about the good things in life

I haven’t posted in a few days.  Not because I have had nothing to say, but rather because I have been otherwise occupied.  How, you may ask?  Being totally entertained, pampered and cared for by family, friends, and other special people who love me and want me to know that they love me.  And I so do not take these actions or these people for granted. 

I have been so blessed in my life to be surrounded by fantastic people.  I have always maintained a very small circle of close friends and family.  I guess that’s an introvert kind of trait.  But my small circle has always been fiercely close, protective and loyal.  And that’s exactly how I am towards them.  I guess loyalty breeds loyalty.  If you are counted among my friends or family then you know that I would do anything for you, give anything to you, go anywhere with you, stand beside you in any situation and defend you with all that I am to see that your well being is guarded and defended.  And my friends and family will do the same for me.

So when my birthday rolls around each year I am always treated to many days, if not weeks of ongoing celebrations.  Not gift-giving, mind you, because who can afford that these days?  But day after day and night after night of feasting, drinking, partying, merry-making, laughing, joking, reminiscing and so forth in my honor.  And I eat up every minute of it.  There is nothing I love more than to hang out with the people in this world that I love and cherish.

I know that not everyone in the world is blessed with these kind of relationships.  I hope you are, and I hope you appreciate them and honor them.  Life is short in the grand scheme of things.  Nothing this world has to offer can match the joy and depth of love of a loyal relationship.

May the peace and love of friends and family be yours today as it has been mine.

