Although I consider myself to be an innocent bystander, primarily because I am new to this circle of folks, there seems to be quite the drama going on in the blog world these days.  It seems as if lots of fine people have fallen victim to the bad blood that has been generated from the sniping snarky comments of lots of other folks who for whatever reason have determined that it is in their general best interest to kick the other said folks while they are down.

My hope throughout this drama has been that somehow I can continue to forge friendships in this cyber space and time without getting drawn into these relationship issues that don’t really have anything to do with me.  The bad part is, I seem to have made some acquaintances on both sides of the fence.  Like you, I only have so much time in the day, so although I branch out and read lots of blogs from time to time, I have selected particular people that I read regularly because I really enjoy their perspectives, point of view, and the activities and events in their lives that they tend to share.  So, when I go to my favorites only to find that another of my favorites is being kicked around it’s a little disheartening.  What has made this all even worse is it has resulted in a vicious cycle of insult and injury followed by retaliation, revenge and separation.  Now to make matters worse, what was being done by inference is now being done openly, calling out the offenders by name.  The result: lots of people have hurt feelings, and because it’s bloggers, everyone is blogging about their hurt feelings.  The really funny thing (strange, not ha ha) is that the original offending ship has long since sailed.  It won’t be long until no one will even remember what started the whole ordeal because the drama is quickly morphing into an entirely different creature that no longer resembles it’s birth parents.

Although there have been bright blogging moments through out this entire ordeal, as some folks have ignored the whole thing and continued with their normal brilliant writing, most of my favorite blogs from the pre-drama days have degenerated and now are a general waste of time, even when the subject matter is not drama focused.  And this is a real shame.  But, it is a clear demonstration of the limitations of the written electronic media when it comes to managing and building relationships.  If I had a Star Trek-ish type teleporter, I would come abduct everyone of you and teleport you all into a locked room and not let you out until you either killed each other or resolved your differences.  Sometimes you just need to stop writing and pick up the phone and make a call, or better yet go meet face to face.  Be the grown people that we all are and resolve our differences as adults.

It is far too easy to hide behind the computer screen and the anonymity that blogging affords.  After all, you don’t really know me, and I don’t really know you.  Therefore I am not really vested in the reaction or response that my words elicit.  I can turn my back, I can ignore your comments, I can turn comments off and make my conversation one sided, I can even make it private and hand select those that can read what I have to say.  None that is possible in a fully vested relationship.  I will so get in my car and drive to your house and camp out on your front porch until you let me in your living room look me in the eye and explain to me why I shouldn’t punch you in the face for the crap you’ve been giving me (great non-punctuated long-ass sentence for emphasis — I’m creative that way).

Anyway, far be it from me to preach at you, unlike this fruit loop (Melody Spencer, not her). I just think with a little effort towards normalized relationships we can all get back to what we do best, blogging.

In no particular order, here is a shout out to a bunch of my favorite bloggers.  I hope to read you all for a long time to come.

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

 

 

